#WIPMarathon check in #1

So much has changed since the last #wipmarathon. My life as a writer is a bit different know. The last time I took part in this amazing project, my goal was to finish writing a novella and take matters into my own hands and self publish it. I was very excited about this. I was researching editors and cover artists and trying to decide how to make this a reality. Early in the “marathon” I finished my first revision of the novella and handed it over to my husband to read. He was very encouraging, and suggested that I query it out “just to see what happens”. What happened was a book deal with a publishing press. Crazy, right? The novella turned into a full novel and I’m finishing up line edits now. 

So I am very excited to be a part of this new winter wipmarathon. I’m looking forward to reconnecting with the friendships that I made the last time and cheering others on! The support team here is amazing and I’m lucky to have found it. 

So without further ado….

Marathon Goal 

A completed draft of an old idea. Time to bring my character out of the Mac files and breathe new life into him.

Stage of Writing

I am going back to an old MS that I haven’t looked at in over a year. I need time to just reconnect to the characters and figure out where I want this story to go. I have a few intro chapters done and an outline for the middle but nothing more than that… an ending would be good too!!!!

What inspired my WIP

I have always, ALWAYS loved vampires. (Old school Anne Rice Vamps!!) I never ventured to write about them because the topic seemed very saturated and overdone. But I feel like I owe it to myself to try. So that’s my goal.

Possible Distractions

The day job *sigh*, my edits for my contracted book and my home life. Oh yeah, and Christmas. 😉

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#WIPMarathon check in #1

  1. I hope this WIPMarathon is just as successful as the last one! Best of luck with your goals! 🙂

  2. So happy you’re joining us again, Karen!

    Good luck with your project…and edits!

Leave a Reply

