As Midnight Strikes

They gathered around and waited for me to die.

I could feel the weight of their stare and knew they looked in horror at how I had transformed before their eyes. No longer was I the vision of hope, the promise of a new day, but rather the end of a difficult journey. They saw in me the burden of bad memories, and tragic events. I had wanted to give them more. I had wanted to be the one that would transform their world, but instead I was baggage and regret. I was missed opportunities and terrible choices.

“It won’t be long now.” I heard one say. I could tell he was eager for the moment to arrive, to say goodbye and have it be final.

It was getting harder to breathe. Like someone was sitting on my chest, crushing my lungs. I had hoped to merely fade away, retreat to memories like all the others, but I could see now, that it wasn’t going to be that easy. I was not just a bump in the road. I was here, and I had to believe as the light grew dim that I held importance to someone, even if it was just one person.

“It’s time.” another voice said, she was firm in her tone, but gentle.

Was this the final moment? Was this my exit? I didn’t know what to do, where to go. What would become of me?

I heard a single cry, a desperate plea that gripped at my heart and carried me with her in her pain. And then silence.

As I faded away into my future, I heard the announcement that sealed my fate,
“The first baby of the New Year has arrived.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “As Midnight Strikes

  1. This is great, Kat

    — Siri

Leave a Reply

