Life after RT14

 

 

The Romantic Times convention has come and gone. It’s hard to believe that I have been home for almost two weeks. It was hands down one of the best experiences of my life! I discovered that I am actually braver than I thought. I spent a week embracing challenges that I never knew I could do, and accomplishing them– with flying colors! For the first time in my life, I traveled alone, and I have to say there is great freedom in stepping onto a plane and leaving your responsibilities behind for six days to seek out your dreams.

 

There were amazing moments– pitching to desirable agents and pub houses, ( and yes, I got requests! Huzzah!) chatting with authors who have graced my bookshelves for years, my first book signing, immersing myself in the culture of New Orleans and even tasting alligator! (Tastes like snake 😉 I’d eat it again.) I also discovered that I have an accent. Who knew? Water: wa-terwat-er??

 

But what made this trip so over the top special were the people. Women who I have spoken to over the past year, who have gone through the ups and downs of a pub press closing with me– we all met in the heart of New Orleans.

 

So, I’d like to take a moment to talk about these women, because they have left an imprint forever on my heart.

 

Georgeann Swiger

 

Georgeann was the first of my friends that I met down in NOLA. I was nervous on my way down to the lobby, but as soon as she saw me, she greeted me with such genuine joy, all my nerves melted away. Georgeann is a living ray of sunshine. She is the epitome of southern charm, grace, and beauty. But beware she has a spitfire side that is adorably entertaining. I already miss touring the city with her. It was nice to sit and have a serious conversation about the rules of our angel lore. I’m sure the table next to us thought we were nuts.

 

Most Memorable Moment: Beignets at Cafe Du Monde when the city was just waking up

beignetsGeorgeann

 

Ana Blaze

Ana is the person that surprised me the most– in a GREAT way! She’s “totes adorbs” and I had to fight the urge not to hug her left and right. She is someone who I have grown to admire over the past year, taking in her knowledge of the pub world and making her my personal literary guru, to which she found quite bizarre. (She’s so modest!) We had great walks around the French Quarters and stalked some celebs together, ending a busy day at the carousel bar at the Hotel Monteleone. Her love of Spike and all things Buffy made her beyond awesome and I look forward to reading her vamp book in the future!

Most Memorable Moment: Asking Ana to be my wing-woman, so I could fangirl all over Christopher Rice.

carouselAna

 

Barbara Garren

Barb is as cool and hip as she appears on twitter. The way she displayed confidence in promoting her indie book, Phasms, was inspiring. She set me at ease and gave me the support I needed to swallow my fears and promote my own book and pitch my story to the agents and editors that I flew down to see. Her husband is a delight and watching them together you get a glimpse at a rare treat: what soul mates actually look like.

Most Memorable Moment: When Barbara hugged me and Georgeann for the first time and said, “You are real!”

Barb

 

Kara Leigh Miller

Now Kara and I have grown very close over the past year. She was my FANTASTIC editor for Taming Darkness and made it sparkle and shine before I hit the publish button.  She has been more than an editor, but a friend and mentor this past year. Even with our countless amount of emails, tweets, and phone calls, I was not prepared for how much FUN she would be in person. Her giggles are infectious and she knows how to have a good time. She also has determination and eagerness to dive into this business that is so inspiring, I don’t know where I would be without her. She is the one who convinced me to come to RT, and I am so happy I followed her advice.

Most Memorable Moment: Telling the police officer that she lived at the Marriot. “Barefoot on Bourbon!”

kara

Rachell Nicole

Rachell was new to our “disenchanted” group, but I am so happy that she was part of our wild ride. This girl has spunk, balls (I mean that in the BEST way), and knows her way around this business. She reminds me of Tinkerbell on Red Bull, taking matters into her own hands and getting stuff done! She was so informative and helpful. While listening to her own personal writing journey, I realized that I was learning a lot. There is also a warm, nurturing side to Rachell that I am so thankful for– if it wasn’t for her watching out for me, I probably never would have eaten while in NOLA. The fact that she occasionally called me “Kitty Kat” was beyond cool, as that was my nickname as a child.

Most Memorable Moment: Hitting the confessional after having hurricanes on Bourbon Street.

Jo

 

So as you can see, with these women around me for a week, it was difficult to say goodbye and return to NYC. I miss them so much and look forward to the day when we will all be together again. It’s an exciting time, and I am so happy to call these girls friends. The future is bright– who knows what magic is in store for us?

3 Comments

May 30, 2014 · 2:09 pm

3 responses to “Life after RT14

  1. This makes me wish I’d gone. Well, I was already wish that – but now it’s MUCH WORSE.

  2. *incoherent blubbering*

    {{HUGS}}

  3. Awww….What nice things to say. And since you can’t exactly say what you think of yourself, let me just say that you, dear Kat, are a hip NY City girl who is cooler than a cherry popsicle spiked with rum. I had the best time seeing New Orleans with you. I’m so proud of you for meeting face to face with agents and editors and wowing them with your stories. I wish you all the best with your books. Keep writing and remember: Never wear black pants to Café Du Monde.

Leave a Reply

